Leigh Bardugo

FAQ About Leigh Bardugo

What is the Six of Crows series about? Leigh Bardugo
6 months ago | gizem

What is the Six of Crows series about?

The Six of Crows series, written by Leigh Bardugo, is a duology set in the Grishaverse, but it features a different cast of characters and takes place in a different part of the world. The series includes two books: "Six of Crows" (2015) and "Crooked Kingdom" (2016). Here's a brief overview of the Six of Crows series:

1. Six of Crows (2015):

The story is set in the bustling city of Ketterdam, known for its criminal underworld and bustling trade. It follows a diverse group of six outcasts and criminals who are brought together for a seemingly impossible heist. The crew consists of:

  • Kaz Brekker: A cunning and ruthless thief known as "Dirtyhands" who leads the crew.
  • Inej Ghafa: A skilled acrobat and spy known as the Wraith.
  • Nina Zenik: A Grisha Heartrender with the ability to control bodies.
  • Matthias Helvar: A former soldier with a complicated history.
  • Jesper Fahey: A sharpshooter with a love for gambling.
  • Wylan Van Eck: A talented demolitions expert.

Their mission is to break into the heavily fortified Ice Court, a military stronghold that holds a valuable hostage with the potential to change the balance of power in the world. As the crew faces numerous challenges, including internal conflicts and external threats, the narrative delves into their backstories, relationships, and the complex dynamics of trust and loyalty.

2. Crooked Kingdom (2016):

Picking up where "Six of Crows" left off, "Crooked Kingdom" continues the story of Kaz and his crew as they navigate the aftermath of their successful but tumultuous heist. The stakes are higher, and they face new adversaries and obstacles. The narrative explores themes of revenge, resilience, and the lengths individuals are willing to go for the sake of survival and justice.